My future writing life

The last time I mentioned the MFA, I had accepted admission to Mills College. Well…almost a month later, USF called me to tell me I was accepted! I mean, how did that even happen to me? Even now, I can’t believe I was accepted to the only two schools I applied to. Imagine if I had applied to other schools across the country? But I wasn’t about moving again, so I was happy with my decision.

Anyway, I’m rambling. I had to make a very difficult decision. I created my pro and con list for both schools. I visited classrooms. I talked to instructors. I visited the writing department. It was a nice problem to have but nonetheless, I had to make the decision.

Visiting the University of San Francisco‘s gorgeous and accessible campus, I chose them. I came around full circle.

The first time I visited USF, I was in my late twenties and also the first time I had visited the west coast, ever! The beauty of the bay overwhelmed me. The crisp air, sunny cloudless sky, and the city seduced me immediately. Then I saw the campus and I fell in love.

As an undergraduate at NYU, the campus was New York City. Therefore, for this native Brooklynite, I didn’t know what a college campus looked like. Arriving at Lone Mountain, I had to wipe the drool from my chin, because I was so awestruck. I mean, here I was, taking sights like the view from Twin Peaks and a sunset at Ocean Beach and now this? This view of the low buildings and sea surrounding the Bay? I was in disbelief and full of elation.

I met with the Director of Administration and told him about my writing endeavors. Then I was on my way. More in love with the program as well. Working alongside published authors and being challenged in a way I’ve never been before created the possibility of what my future writing life held.

Unfortunately, my writing wasn’t up to par at the time so I was rejected. But I completely understand why now! I’m more in tune with the craft of writing, my intention, and my practice of reading for both recreational and learning purposes. There’s a reason I was accepted this time. I was led here for a reason. To have experiences. Have conflict to create conflict. Be exposed to a rich literary scene. Read at a literary event! Support other writers. Become part of a writing community. Join a literary committee. Serve on an editorial board for a literary magazine.

None of these opportunities would have arisen if I were still living in NYC. I wasn’t making writing as much of a priority there and I have while living in the Bay Area. Writing has always been my passion and now I’m finally following my dreams.

Here’s to my future writing life and all that will entail.

Writing quote

2 responses to “My future writing life

  1. thegirlwhoasks

    I am glad you chose USF! Please post your experiences as an MFA grad student. I am applying for fall 2016, which gives me enough time to prepare for the application. If it’s okay with you, may I ask what genre it is you applied for? I am going with non-fiction because I feel it is where my heart is.

    • bkwriter4life

      Hi! I applied to long fiction because that’s where My heart is. And I will most definitely be posting my experiences on here with each class and orientation I attend.

Leave a Reply

