My First Literary Reading

One world, many storiesLast night, I was invited to read for the monthly reading series, InsideStoryTime that is MC’d by a fellow Litquake committee member, James Warner at La Movida Wine Bar with some amazing writers: Colin Winnette, Joshua Safran, Marie Mockett, and Emily Kiernan

As my first reading Ever, I practiced, practiced, and practiced until I made sure the pace flowed and remembered places to pause for reaction. I revised, revised, and revised some more to exclude exposition sentences or phrases that might have seemed intentional for this event. My piece was a non-fiction piece so I had to read it as if I were reading it to a friend, in my natural storytelling voice.

I invited everyone I knew in the Bay Area (a lot since I’ve moved here) and is the case, eleven out of a few hundred showed up. My small crew of supporters was enough. I didn’t even expect that much so I was grateful for their presence.

I read first, which I liked, and after I was finished, I couldn’t concentrate on the second reader because I was still wondering about my performance. Did I pause enough? Was I engaging enough? Not enough people laughed! I guess there was something missing but this piece isn’t complete anyway. I’ll do better the next time.

How did I feel? Exhilarated. Relieved. Fascinated and inspired by the published readers that followed. I was the only unpublished author in the mix and I felt honored to have been grouped in with them during the reading. Accomplished.

This is only the beginning of my writing journey. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me.

A huge shout out to the readers last night and James, for inviting this first time reader to his series. Thank you all for the warmth! See you around!

One response to “My First Literary Reading

  1. Pingback: My future writing life | Adventures in Writing

Leave a Reply

