Screen Free Week

Upon participation in the National Unplugging Day last month, I researched another type of “unplugging” ritual.

Every year, the Campaign for Commercial-Free Childhood (CCfC) sponsor a Screen Free Week (formerly TV-Turnoff) where communities, families, schools, and children use their free time to do other things rather than stay inside and watch TV, usually in the Spring time. This year, Screen Free week has been delegated to April 18th-24th.

I’ve declared my own Screen Free Week, which for me means no TV or movie watching on my computer or on my PS3. However, the rules of the National Unplugging Day do not apply here. I am able to text, email, and read the news online. I however, cannot participate in any video online streaming media at all – not even music videos.

As a writer, it’s easy to distract oneself with noise. This week, I have no excuse because I won’t have anything to watch. Instead, I’ll focus on reading, writing, catching up with friends, and anything that doesn’t include media watching.

As for social gatherings, movies and other media events occur so those can happen because I’m with friends. By myself, is something completely different.

I’ll be providing updates each day with my activities.

Won’t you join me in a week of abandoning visual media and participating in something else for a change?

Leave a Reply

