Reading List for 2011

Inspired by a fellow reader (check out her blog Trac Changes) who created a reading challenge of fifty books this year, I decided to create my own list to follow through the year. Because I’m part of a book club, I’ll leave slots for at least ten books but my list will be for at least forty two.

Here goes nothing, not organized by genre:

Bogus to Bubbly – Scott Westerfeld

Specials – Scott Westerfeld

Extras – Scott Westerfeld

About a Boy – Nick Hornby

Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov 5/8/14

Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood

Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner – Dean Karnazes

Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora – Sheree R. Thomas

Insomnia – Stephen King 5/26/15

Christine – Stephen King

A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole

Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury

Mrs. Dalloway – Virginia Woolf

Emma – Jane Austen

Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

You Just Don’t Understand: Women and Men in Conversation – Deborah Tannen

Little Women – Louisa May Alcott

The Subtle Knife – Phillip Pullman

The Liar’s Club – Mary Karr

Big Machine – Victor LaValle

Blind Date – Bruce Richards

Player Piano – Kurt Vonnegut

Fierce Attachments – Vivian Gornick

The Starlight Crystal – Christopher Pike

Animal Farm – George Orwell

The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven – Sherman Alexie

Beauty’s Punishment – Anne Rice

Bee Season – Myla Goldberg

Elements of Style – Wendy Wasserstein

Full Dark, No Stars – Stephen King

Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter – Mario Vargas Llosa

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sleep? – Philip K. Dick 6/23/13

Haunted – Chuck Palahniuk

Misery – Stephen King

How to Read Air – Dinaw Mengestu

You Don’t Look Like Anyone I Know – Heather Sellers

I Am Legend – Richard Matheson

Hell House – Richard Matheson

Die Softly – Christopher Pike

This is my list! Yay! I look forward to crossing some of these out, considering I own most of them.

*I have deleted three books due to disinterest upon reading the first chapter. Plus, I have so much more to read!!

2 responses to “Reading List for 2011

  1. Fahrenheit 451: Want to be my reading buddy for this one?
    Philip Pullman: Heck. Yes.
    Sherman Alexie: Double heck yes. Tell me how you like that one!
    Haunted: Decent, but I liked Lullaby a lot better.
    I Am Legend: I want to read that! Tell me how it is.

    Your list is fabulous. Good luck!

    • Tell me when you read Fahrenheit 451 so we could read it at the same time!

      Good luck to you as well! I’ll have to put some books from your list for next year’s challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

