The Host

Author: Stephanie Meyer

Published by: Little, Brown, and Company (2008)

Not knowing a thing about Stephanie Meyer and the Twilight series until 2008 (when Breaking Dawn was released), I bought this book in hardcover edition.

Since I take a long time reading novels, I started this one (it’s about 600 pages) in October of 2009 (because Halloween was around the corner) but I didn’t finish until this month (September). The book took me a long time to read because it was long, in hardcover, and I was reading other books.

However, when I made the decision to buckle down and read only this, I was in for a thrill ride!

The writing is not fantastic by all means, but I was in for the ride from beginning to end.

Briefly, the world is overtaken by parasites in which they latch onto human bodies (hosts). The reason we have a tale is because this one Wanderer is inserted into Melanie’s body. The difference with Melanie’s body is her mind is still there and the Wanderer fights with her. Along with Melanie’s mind, the Wanderer shares Mel’s feelings and memories of her loved ones. This leads the Wanderer to leave her place of comfort and seek those loved ones – namely Jamie, Mel’s brother, and Jared, her love.

For those who love the Twilight series, they will enjoy this story. I can see myself getting involved (to an extent) into the series but the writing wasn’t very clever and too much telling. Told in the first person, I was able to relate to both Melanie and the Wanderer but the exposition became exaggerated at times and not clever.

Like I aforementioned, a fun and breezy read but definitely not a literary masterpiece. Great brain candy! Go have some!

Leave a Reply

