Books on Writing

When I read Stephen King’s On Writing last year, my writing improved so much! Then I stopped reading books on writing. I wrote and read novels instead.

Stephen King mentioned that we as writers need to just write. But then I took writing classes and there were always great suggestions of books to own about writing.

The list is quite overwhelming and keeps growing. Recently, I bought three books on writing per suggestion of my current writing workshop instructor at the Frederick Douglass Creative Arts Center.

They are: The Art of Fiction by John Gardner, Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose, and Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne and Dave King. I also loved Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg. There are so many books on writing out there!

What are some books that you have read and have helped you in your writing/process? Any suggestions?

4 responses to “Books on Writing

  1. I’m reading Stephen King’s On Writing right now and I love it! You are right, there are so many books about writing out there, it is kind of overwhelming and most of them say the same things. The other book I really enjoy reading is ‘bird by bird’ by Anne Lamott.

    • I have heard of Bird by Bird as well. That’s a book I will own in the future eventually. And Stephen King’s On Writing, amazing! Glad you enjoy it! Thanks for visiting the site! 🙂

  2. Any writing book by Donald Maass is worth the money paid. I actually sent him a fan letter. (he even replied!) I especially liked the Breakout Novel Workbook. You don’t really need the book its supposed to go with to find it useful. I loved it so much! Fire in Ficiton is the one I found least helpful, but I still get plenty of use out of it.

    I have also read On Writing and found it very helpful. I haven’t read any of the other books you’ve mentioned.

Leave a Reply

