Second Time’s a Charm?

I have been talking to folks about the MFA program and I’m feeling indifferent about applying this year. I’m not completely enrolled in researching, finding recommendations, and writing personal statements. I’m a whole lot lazier about it this time around. Is something wrong with me? I wanted this…right? I know I don’t need an MFA to be labeled a “writer” because guess what? I already am one. But I need to think about this and be honest with myself. Why do I want this degree? And if I get rejected a second time around, will I apply again? I don’t know.

I have been blogging more than writing, which is good, however I’m not creating new material. The good news is me signing up for the FDAC class that starts in two weeks. I’m excited about that. I’m just not creating is all.

After listening to Zandile speak about writers having to market and brand themselves, I was exhausted just thinking about it! That’s a lot of work! But am I passionate about writing? I am. I truly am. I’m also passionate with everyone in the blogosphere which is why I like to share with folks my experience attending panels and talks involving writing.

I have to suck it up and do the work because no one is going to do it for me. Write on!

Leave a Reply

