Lit Mag Marathon Weekend

This past weekend The Council of Literary Magazines & Presses sponsored the 11th Annual Lit Mag Marathon Weekend in New York City. Part of this weekend’s festivities included an event on Saturday where editors from selected magazines were available to speak to readers, writers, and lovers alike of literature at the New York Public Library’s DeWitt Periodical Room at 5th Avenue.

On Sunday, the Housing Works Bookstore Cafe held the 11th Annual Literary Magazine Fair, in which the proceeds benefit the Housing Works, a nonprofit organization serving homeless people living with AIDS, and to The Council of Literary Magazines and Presses. Each magazine was $2 (a steal compared to how much the retail cost).

The store was filled with readers, writers, regulars, employees of the magazines, college students, and everyone in between.

As a reader, I’ve never read a literary magazine in my life so the options were daunting. The choices ranged from magazines I would actually read versus purchasing a prestigious magazine to have in my apartment to impress folks. I rejected the second reason to buy a literary magazine and opened myself up to exploring based on what genre I read the most: fiction. I found some magazines with poetry, fiction, memoir, and non-fiction which I’m glad I bought. Additionally, I also stumbled upon many straight up poetry magazines and since I don’t read or write poetry, I declined buying those.

I settled on the following magazines:

Alimentum – The Literature of Food 

Zahir – A Journal of Speculative Fiction – self- explanatory

Glimmer Train – all fiction!

Narrative Magazine – I receive emails from this magazine and wonder why I have not yet subscribed but I’ve been in love since I read an article about Lorrie Moore months ago.

Epiphany – a journal that enticed me because of the cover and I loved the title!

Reading these will take some time since I am part of a book club, have books to read that I own (and borrowed), and other miscellaneous reading materials. However, I see owning these books to  gauge the writing MFA programs produce as well as potential places to submit when I have a piece good and ready.

I look forward to reading actively more and being more productive as a writer. MFA applications are slowly approaching.

For your convenience, I have provided a list of the magazines at the fair. Enjoy.

6×6

A Public Space

Abe’s Penny

Absinthe: New European Writing

AGNI

Alaska Quarterly Review

Alimentum – The Literature of Food

American Poet

anderbo.com

Aufgabe

Bateu

Bellevue Literary Review

Beloit Poetry Journal

Bitter Oleander

BOMB

Book/Mark Quarterly Review

Canteen

Chautauqua

Colorado Review

Conduit

Confrontation

Contemporary Verse 2

Copper Nickel

Drunken Boat

Ecotone

Electric Literature

Fairy Tale Review

Fence

FIELD

Gargoyle Magazine

Gigantic

Glimmer Train

Granta

Haight Ashbury Literary Journal

Hanging Loose

HOBART

J Journal: New Writing on Justice

Journal of Ordinary Thought

Jubilat

KALEIDOSCOPE

KARAMU

Lalitamba

Left Curve

Lips

LIT Magazine

Literal Latte

Literal, Latin American Voices

LUMINA

MAKE: A Literary Magazine

Mason’s Road Journal

Minnetonka Review

Narrative Magazine

New England Review

Ninth Letter

Northwest Review

OSIRIS

PALABRA A Magazine of Chicano & Latino Literary Art

PEN America

Poem

Poetica Magazine

Poetry Flash

Prairie Schooner

Prick of the Spindle

Puerto del Sol

Raritan

Rattapallax

Ruminate

SALMAGUNDI

Salt Hill

Skidrow Penthouse

Slice

Soundings Review

Southern Humanities Review

Spinning Jenny

St. Petersburg Review

Storyscape Journal

The Baltimore Review

The Blotter Magazine

The Common Review

The Fiddlehead

The Iowa Review

The LBJ: Avian Life, Literary Arts

The Literary Review

The MacGuffin

The New York Quarterly

The Raven Chronicles

The Same

The Summerset Review

Third Coast

Tin House

The Oxford American

Tuesday; An Art Project

Versal

Verse Wisconsin

Vestal Review

Washington Square

Waterways

West Branch

Willow Springs

Witness

Wood Coin

Yankee Oracle Gazette

Zahir – A Journal of Speculative Fiction

ZEEK: A Jewish Journal of Thought and Culture

Zone 3

Leave a Reply

