Housing Works Bookstore

When I walked into the Housing Works Bookstore, I fell in love with the quaint atmosphere and the books being sold there. I’ve always appreciated bookstores and have to contain myself when I want to purchase more books than I have the space for in my home.

This weekend, I will be attending an event there called the The Giant Lit Mag Fair which happens on Sunday, June 20th, 2010 from noon to 5pm on Crosby Street in Manhattan. Apart from the opportunity to subscribe and buy literary magazines, the editors from some of these magazines will be there to talk to. Can you say networking?

I urge any writer available this weekend to attend this fair. Networking is the best way to get your foot in the door in any industry. I’m also unemployed so I could meet some folks and talk about vacancies. Either way, it’ll be a win-win situation. I need to be reading more about the industry anyway so this is the best way to do it.

A big shout out goes out to my girl, Laurel, who put me on to this fair in the first place. I’ll have to thank her in my acknowledgements when I get published. 🙂

Of course, I’ll discuss the fair after the fact so even if you don’t attend, I’ll provide a play by play.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

