Reading

Two years ago, I made the intention to read 1,000 books in less than ten years. This meant reading 100 books every year. Because life got in the way, I have only reached forty four books read this year in total. This means on average, I’ve read twenty books a year. This is a very small number and the goal is to read up to forty or more a year.

It’s not that I’m even a slow reader; I read twenty pages per half-hour. I’m sure I could finish novels in a few days if I really concentrated. Like I aforementioned, I get busy. And I’m serious about reading but I haven’t made time for it.

I’ve been reading Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon for two months now and the book is less that 400 pages! If I sat down for an hour every day, I’d be done by the end of the week, easy.

My intention is to read furiously and writing the goal down will motivate me to take it more seriously.

I have written the goal down on the website 43 things which is a life list you can print out, track, write entries on, and share with the world. I write down every book I read and review them as I have been doing on here. This website reminds me of the many things I want to accomplish before I perish or something terrible happens to me.

In sharing my goal on my blog, this will motivate me to read the books I own, review them, and learn from them. I am a writer after all.

I urge you to visit the website and create your own life list. It’s fun! You’d be surprised how fulfilling it is to complete something on your list and move on to the next. It’s a great feeling.

Leave a Reply

