The Library

When I walk up the concrete steps to the double doors of the Williamsburg branch library, I sigh in relief and joy. 

My affair with the library started at six years old on a school trip. I had not completely discovered the joy of reading yet but remember having a story read to us by Mr. Plaza who resembled Tim Curry. I received my first library card ever – the card was red and shiny.  I signed my name on the back and didn’t re-visit the library on my own until junior high school. I discovered R.L. Stine, Christopher Pike, and John Saul. Apart from those authors, I also read The Babysitter’s Club, Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High and anything written by Bruce Coville (who wrote most of the My Teacher is an Alien series). From the getgo, I enjoyed supernatural and girly stories. As an adolescent, books were my friends. I didn’t have many friends and the friends I did have, didn’t like reading. I read everywhere, all the time, every day. I loved taking out a R.L. Stine book and devouring the 200 page book in one sitting, the same night. There was nothing like going to the library and leaving with at least ten or fifteen books to read over the next three weeks. I always left with a grin etched on my face; the excitement of new worlds propelled me to walk home at a fast speed to read.

There’s no other place on the planet for me that creates a sense of safety and creativity like the library. I can sit down and write for an hour or more with no distractions at the library. The only downside is I can’t munch on anything when I’m hungry. Other than that, I love going to the library, taking out books on writing, the classics, genres I don’t usually read to switch it up, and putting books on hold my branch doesn’t have.

I also enjoy perusing bookstores but because I own so many books I haven’t read, I try to stay away so I won’t buy anything. I’ve been good about not purchasing books at the moment but sometimes I have a weak spot for literature. I can’t help it! I love reading!

I don’t know many people who still visit the library, which is a shame. Apart from taking out DVDs, there are so many books to discover and explore. I urge everyone to go out there and visit your local library. You won’t regret it. 🙂

One response to “The Library

  1. Wow, you’re like a mirror image! 🙂

    Yes, I visit the library, and yes I have gotten a new card for myself very recently because I moved to a new place.

    I cannot tell you how much I resonate with your message. I urge people too, if I may, to visit their local libraries and build up a relationship with almost everything there. The helpful and knowledgeable librarians (who are mostly volunteers in my local lib), the lovely smelling books, the brilliant writers and so on. I can draw so much inspiration from it all! I somehow can’t eliminate a library from my personal space even if the very library offers online books to read.

    Thanks for the share!

    Best,
    BrownEyed

Leave a Reply

