Publishing Employment Opportunities

As a writer, working in publishing is like a conflict of interest, right? I think not. Who says you can’t do both? Below are the websites I frequent when looking for jobs and/or internships.

The Publisher’s Marketplace has a job board I check every so often. The descriptions are clear and the jobs are easy to apply to. I recently applied to a job posted on the site and it was easy as pie. Will I receive a phone call from the agency? Only time will tell.

I plug Mediabistro all the time because the resources on the site are extremely helpful. You only have to create a free account on the site to apply which doesn’t take more than five minutes. At times, some postings have an external link to apply on the company’s website.

Book Jobs has a large quantity of employment opportunities as well as an exhausting list of internships as well. This site has postings updated weekly.

Now for some company career sites:

Simon & Schuster is such a huge company with many imprints. There’s no hurt in searching the jobs they have available. I peruse the website once a week, just in case something comes up.

W.W. Norton and Company has openings that range from 0-2 years experience to 5+ years experience. They currently have paid internships available.

Harper Collins presently has many New York opportunities available.

Random House constantly has job vacancies which I also peruse once a week.

Penguin Group is another site that offers employment opportunities.

There are many more publishing companies (smaller and other educational) but these are the ones I have bookmarked that I wanted to share for those who don’t know.

Enjoy and happy job hunting!

3 responses to “Publishing Employment Opportunities

  1. This is one of the more useful resource lists I’ve read recently. Thanks for getting all of it on one page.

  2. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting
    for your further write ups thank you once again.

Leave a Reply

