More Lit Agency advice

I only had one day this week due to the weather conditions in New York City.  My supervisors were stuck in places that really had them snowed in.

On that note, let’s begin, shall we?

Postcards: Really?  Agencies email or send out rejection letters; they don’t use postcards to request or reject submissions.  It’s not cute and it won’t make you stand out; it’ll just make you look like an ass.  Follow protocol.

Boxes to check off: Come on!  K.I.S.S. – Keep It Simple Stupid my fellow writers.  The little boxes are not cutesy enough, especially if your query isn’t interesting enough to request sample chapters to read your work.  Either way, as I aforementioned, you will receive an email or letter with word from the agency.  The agency will not check off the boxes in your letter.  You can do it but you might not get a response or the quickest way to a rejection letter.

Lastly – profit sharing: I read a query letter that read like this: “If you are my agent, I promise you fifty percent of the profit from my book…”  Why are you even talking about this if you haven’t even been signed with the agency?  And who says you even get to decide that anyway?  It’s based on the contract the agency drafts and you can choose to accept or reject it.  Don’t discuss profits until the agency is considering your work and wants you – not in a query letter.  Talk about your work but not about money.

That’s my two cents for now.  I’ll have more next week!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

