Inspiration

I read chapters from three books recently: Cherry by Mary Karr, Breathers by S.G. Browne, and Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon.  All different genres and styles of writing.  My favorite of the bunch?  Cherry.  At first, I was comparing it to Lucky because I really enjoyed that memoir but then I became present to what I want to do when I write my memoir.  This is what reading does – inspiration all around!

Why didn’t I read these before?  Granted, the demise of my IPod has me reading a lot more on the train and when I get home.  Additionally, making the conscious decision to pass on watching a movie and reading a work that shows me a little something about craft. 

Additionally, reading The New Yorker is gratifying because I can imagine having my work published in a magazine one day.  The New Yorker, not so much, but A magazine in the future.  Reading those magazines also push me to edit a piece to submit this year.  The goal this year is to submit to magazines – big and small – and see where it takes me.  I’m not going to give up but that’s what I’ll be doing after grad school anyway.  Why not start now?

Even with those letters trickling in, I have felt reinvigorated to keep going.  I’ve said this before – it’s not the end of the world if I don’t get into grad school.  There are so many published writers that don’t have graduate degrees; there’s hope for me yet.

One response to “Inspiration

  1. if you like memoirs, try “Perfection,” by julie metz. you won’t be able to put it down! also, mary karr’s “Lit,” her newest, is supposed to be amazing.

Leave a Reply

