And the letters begin…

I received my first rejection letter from the University of Texas at Austin.  As soon as I saw the letter, I knew it was a rejection.  Maybe its wrong of me to think back to when as a high school student, I paid attention to the thinness or fattiness of the university envelopes.

Getting into undergraduate school was a breeze – only one school rejected me – Hamilton College – which at the time, I didn’t even know why I applied there in the first place.  I got into every school I wanted.  Even at a Pennsylvania school I never intended on attending like Susquehanna University!

This time around though, is completely different.  My acceptance is based on this – what I’m doing right now – sharing my thoughts and experiences in fictionalized form.  Maybe I jumped the gun; maybe I should have waited another year before applying to grad school.  I feel like the time between applying and now, my writing has already improved.  There are instances that I’m already aware of improvements without a workshop. 

After all that, how do I really feel?  The free ride was a Sweet deal but that’s all I was thinking about.  And because it was a good program.  Was I in love with the prospects of attending UTA?  No.  Am I sad with the rejection?  No.  I got six more schools to hear from.  Bring it on!  I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

