That deadline is steadily approaching

I just had my last writing workshop of the year, which was amazing.  They provided me with exceptionally useful feedback for my MFA manuscript.  I feel confident about my manuscript as opposed to before.  I spent a great amount of time on this story (which is my newest piece of fiction this year apart from prior short stories I’ve written since undergrad) and it shows!  I’m so proud of myself but not until I have my high school English teacher read it.  I can’t wait to read her feedback.  She hasn’t read my work since high school.  I shall see what she’ll tell me.

And these personal statements: I want to send them all one sentence – I write because I have to.  It’s simple.  I don’t want to give them all this b.s. about how I want to change the world with my words.  The bottom line is I want to attend graduate school because I want to be surrounded by like-minded individuals, great instructors, and an environment that takes writing seriously. 

Why, grad school, you ask?  I could apply to low-residency programs, take more writing workshops with Gotham or Sackett and still be in an environment that takes writing seriously.  I think the difference is that graduate school allows an individual to focus on both reading and writing as a writer and you get more when its very concentrated.  Maybe I’m full of crap; what do I know?  I’ve never applied to obtain my MFA before.  This is my first attempt ever.  I might not even get into any of the schools I apply to!  I want to get my MFA for myself because I am taking my writing seriously for the first time in my life.  Why not get those tools from the people that are published and can support you on your journey?  Maybe I’m just plain old fashioned but for me, I function and learn best in a school setting; especially when it comes to focusing on your writing. 

I’m almost there.  Sending these out next Friday and then I’ll set it and forget it. 

One response to “That deadline is steadily approaching

  1. Good luck — I have such a hard time judging my own fiction. If I was applying for MFAs in fiction I’d be freaking out. Luckily, I don’t have to think about applying anywhere for at least a year, and Nonfiction then. Hopefully I can get a job in time to not have to go for an MFA (I’m in an MA right now).

Leave a Reply

