National Novel Writing Month

NaNoWriMo is underway and I’m doing it for the second year in a row. 

Last year, because I started two weeks into November, I wrote 5,000 words a day.  Although I did complete my novel, I did get sick due to lack of sleep and exhaustion.

This year, I am committed to writing 2,000 words a day.  So far, I’m succeeding diligently and at a healthy pace. 

I didn’t do anything with the novel last year but I have ideas on how to revise it, which is great.

There’s something electric that’s motivating me to complete this novel again this year.  The fact that there are ton of people completing this task with me and the wonderful write-ins where a bunch of folks write together.  Where writing is a solitary activity, this non-competition makes it a social activity in which writers support each other. 

I know everyone participating in NaNoWriMo is feeling revved up and writing furiously every day.  The midway point will be the time to drop off and give up on the novel.  But keep going!  You can write your story right!  At the end, you will have the biggest feeling of accomplishment that’s concrete in your hands.  There are so many writers out there who start novels and never complete them.  This month is a time for completion.

Join me for 23 more days of writing oblivion!

National Novel Writing Month

Leave a Reply

