Editing your work

I am in the throes of editing my manuscript for my MFA application after many comments from friends and writing workshop comments.  I must say, the more I put it off, the harder it felt to get back into it.  But when I’m in the character’s head, it flows so easily.  I put off so many things because I’d rather be a schlub and watch movies or TV on DVD all the time.  When I do write, I feel exhilarated and elated.

I also find that editing a piece at a time significantly helps in motivation.  The scariest part for me is that every time I re-write a story, its original form completely changes.  I changed the perspective and also the tone of the story.  It’s a different story.  I have no idea where my story is headed conjured up from the original.  My only goal for my story is to be clear.  I don’t want my readers to be confused, ask questions that should be answered, or wonder about my character’s motivations.  I want to convey all the facts.  This is storytelling and hopefully, my writing comes across as such.

I’ll post a snippet of my work soon enough when I’m almost complete.  For now, on to editing my story!

Leave a Reply

